‘The Innkeepers’ Review

ExclInnkeepersBigThe Innkeepers scared me more than most horror films. I have never been so tense during a horror film before. I usually find it very easy for me to sit relaxed and poised while my girlfriend hides her face. But I think I may have been even more scared than her this time around.

The movie has this wonderful charm that is carried out by its lead played by Sara Paxton. There is a constant sense of humor that lasted through the whole film. The funniest moment being when Luke scares Claire by saying “I don’t want to scare you, but I’m standing right behind you.”

I would say there are no more than 10 scares in this film, but the lead up to each one absolutely terrified me. Ti West sometimes even makes us sit in agony up to 10 minutes at a time, while we wait for the next scare.

The Innkeepers was simple in every way. The plot was very straight forward. It never gets swept up in a convoluted story line that so many modern horror film fall prey to. The characters are not overly complex and we understand every characters motivation in terms of plot and development. Ti West never get’s carried away with special effects making me feel like even I could have made that film.

7/10

 

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

Leave a Reply

