‘John Carter’ Review

john-carter-poster (1)EVERYONE IS WRONG!!! John Carter is one of the best Sci-fi fantasy adventure films made in the last 10 years. It doesn’t sit as highly as something like Avatar, a movie I think is a marvelous entertainment, though many take the opposite stance on my opinion. John Carter is a type a film I would have adored as a kid, back when I first saw star wars. It is an great mix of Star Wars, Indiana Jones, and Star Trek rolled into one very entertaining and beautifully space adventure.

The book ends for this film were used really well, character Edgar Rice Burroughs has inherited the riches of his uncle John Carter, and is most importantly left along his journal for him to have and read alone. And so John Carter’s story starts and so ends, using the book ends in a rather unique way.

Andrew Stanton’s adaption of author’s Edgar Rice Burroughs’ world of Mars was fascinating and brought together rather realistically in an amazing use of CGI.

It was really fun being invited into a world of such interesting and well thought out tribes of alien men and creatures. I loved every minute I spent on Mars. The story of grand adventure and heroism is well thought out, producing an adventure story that should make any adventure genre lover have a great time.

I think it sad that people pushed off this movie, dismissing it for nothing more than a CGI fest with a bad characters and worse story. But when I look at critics reviews, it seems that most were split in positive and negative reviews, which in my opinion can be a good representation of a film, showing that it doesn’t and shouldn’t fit everyones interests. But personally I think it could be something that people will come back to years later and appreciate it for being the grand diversion of reality it is.

8/10

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

3 responses to “‘John Carter’ Review”

  1. The Animation Commendation says :

    Interesting review! I reviewed it already on my live-action Disney blog, and I think I gave it a 60%.

Leave a Reply

