‘Ratatouille’ Review (Post #139)

ratatouille_xlgI feel as though Ratatouille has been Pixar’s overlooked gem. When many bring up their favorite Pixar movies, their minds always go to the Toy Story trilogy, Up, Finding Nemo, or Monsters Inc., and rightly so. These are all number of Pixar’s crowning achievements, but if I could state one Pixar movie that has been swept under the rug, it has been Ratatouille.

My girlfriend is a huge fan of Pixar, she would watch any of their 14 films, but the thing is she has missed on on too of Pixar’s greatest, Wall-E, arguably Pixar masterpiece and Ratatouille. It astonishes me that she has never seen either, but has such a love for the animation studio. So I found it to be my duty to show her this film.

Having not seen Ratatouille for nearly two years, I was glad to revisit it. Ratatouille is near perfection. The story is tremendously creative, the story of a rat who wants to be a cook and his journey in Paris and how he unites with a lowly garbage boy. This is fascinating stuff that only an animation could bring to life.

The romanticism of Paris is evident from start to finish. The beautiful lights and music of the city join together to make this world seem true.

Food is always the main focus here, I was always hungry for just a taste of what Remy is cooking up. (I have never wanted soup so badly in all my life.)

I was drawn nearly to tears when Ego was lead around the kitchen at the end of the movie. The change of his cold heart was very evident after he eats his Ratatouille. There has been such a large buildup to this moment that his transformation of character makes for the most beautiful moment in the film.

Pixar is not only telling a story in Ratatouille, but teaching a lesson about art. Who can be an artist, what is art, and what makes it good or bad. From act one, Gusto is teaching us that “Not everyone can become a great artist; but a great artist *can* come from *anywhere*.”

As a reviewer this teaches me a lesson, a lesson to not condemn those who make movies that I don’t like/or agree with but help discuss what was at fault and how it can be fixed for next time. In the end, does me opinion matter, well maybe only to me. Let’s hope we can all learn to appreciate what is before laid before us. Because much hard work was done by many.

9.5/10

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

4 responses to “‘Ratatouille’ Review (Post #139)”

  1. danmart1n says :

    I’m a big Pixar fan, but for some reason Ratatouille doesn’t really do it for me. It’s a good film, to be sure, but it’s not quite as good as the rest (ignoring Cars).

  2. inkandpaintcorner says :

    I love your reviews, they’re very good.

    I know a woman who sights Ratatouille as her favorite Pixar film. She’s a huge animation fan like myself, though, so that may be the reason.

    I agree with you on this movie being overlooked. I remember overhearing a conversation between two guys who were talking about Pixar and the phrase “a rat that can cook, who cares?” was planted firmly in my memory. Granted they weren’t big film buffs like myself but I found it a bit odd that they were judging it based on premise alone.

Leave a Reply

