‘The Aristocats’ Review (Post #135)

aristocats_xlgThe Aristocats has always been a great memory of my childhood. Every time I re-watch it with my siblings we reminisce about our favorite scenes and moments, always bursting into laughter when these points in the film take place. There is allot to like about this film, and it is respectfully entertaining, but but lacking in greatness and originality.

I would basically call The Aristocats, One Hundred and One Dalmatians for cats. Cats are stolen, cats must journey home and defeat bad guy. Of course it takes a different, more comic and jazzy route than Dalmatians. But you still can’t scratch the feeling that you have seen this before.

Acting: I love, love, love the voices used in this film. it is probably my favorite part. Roddy Maude-Roxby voice as Edgar is timeless. His hoity-toity voice is absolutely perfect. “Hear Kitty-Kitty!” The rest of the cast is perfect. Absolutely no complaints.
10/10

Visuals: I am a pretty big fan of this raw style of cell animation, frankly I miss it. Though it isn’t quite as glamorous as some, it still holds its own. It reminds me of a coloring book.
 8/10

Story: You read my complaints earlier about the story. It is still fun, but lacks in originality. The pacing of the film is great though. I am a pretty big fan of the songs, especially O’malley the alley cat and Everybody Wants to Be a Cat. Heck I even get a good laugh out of Scales and Arpeggios.
 7/10

Concept: Not too original, but still fun.
6/10

Personal: I really like The Aristocats, sure it isn’t my favorite, but I own it on BluRay and will come back to it every once in a while.
7/10

Re-Watchability: ^^^^^^^^
 7/10

7.5/10

Tags: , , , , ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

3 responses to “‘The Aristocats’ Review (Post #135)”

  1. The Animation Commendation says :

    I too love this film despite most people hating/disliking it.

    I disagree with you on Roddy Maude-Roxby’s performance and found it quite unstimulating. But Phil Harris is always enjoyable as was his “O’Malley” song!

  2. danmart1n says :

    I love the musicality of the Aristocats. And I love the cats! I watched it a year or so back after not seeing it since childhood, and I reckon I need to dig it out again soon.

Leave a Reply

