‘The Great Mouse Detective’ Review (Post #129)

great_mouse_detective_xlgNot since re-watching The Hunchback of Notre Dame have I been so pleased to be watching the Disney Animation Studios Canon. The Great Mouse Detective is not only a pleasant transition piece to the Disney Renaissance but it is a clever, splendidly paced homage to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes. I recently started listening to the audiobooks of Sherlock and was pleasantly surprised to how many references they make to these timeless stories. I loved the inclusion of Toby, the detail in Basil’s home; his studies of footprints and cigarette and cigar ash.

Visuals: The character animation is splendid throughout this film. Every character is given his or her little quirks that we soon familiarize ourselves with. I background detail was splendid, creating a fully realized tiny world of mice in London. Also that clock scene was truly a masterwork. I don’t know how they did, but damn, that was sure an impressive scene.
9/10

Acting: Vincent Price as Ratigan is gold, Barrie Ingham plays an equally good crazy Basil of Bakerstreet. I loved all these character voices. Maybe I will watch it again soon to hear those lovely British accents.
8.5/10

Story: The story is splendidly paced, it will keep both the youngsters and adults cheery from start to finish. no scene drags, there is allot of laughs and some witty dialogue. The only downside is the inclusion of some not so good songs. One I really liked and I thought seemed to fit was the “Let Me Be Good to You”. How has this song been forgotten. It matched the bar scene perfectly.
8/10

Concept: Take a group of novels about the Sherlock Holmes in the mouse world, who lives in Sherlock’s house. What with the animals and the vibrant world of Sherlock, this makes for a perfect Disney film.
9/10

Personal: I am becoming more and more introduced into the world of Sherlock and I am loving every minute of it. I would suggest you read the Holmes novels and stories before you watch this one again. it makes it so much better.
8.5/10

Re-Watchability: It’s out on BluRay. I know I will be picking it up soon. There is just so much fun to be had here, so many characters to love and become even more familiar with. Would love a sequel.
8/10

8.5/10

Tags: , , , , , ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

4 responses to “‘The Great Mouse Detective’ Review (Post #129)”

  1. The Animation Commendation says :

    One of my favorite Disney Canon films! You spelled “Dame” wrong in the beginning.

  2. vinnieh says :

    Great post, Fidget the bat used to really creep me out when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

