‘Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind’ Review (Post #102)

eternal-sunshine-of-the-spotless-mindSecond impressions can be lethal both and eye opening in my experiences with watching movies. Sometimes I love a movie during my first viewing on a very basic entertainment level, the second time I am usually looking for something a little more. I liked Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind the first time, but I really didn’t remember much about it. This was a few years ago, before film school and before I really came a student of the films themselves. It was the second viewing of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind in my New Media Film class that I fell in love with it.

This movie can be viewed on an entertainment level. Tt can be studied for its visual splendor, its attention to character, and story. It is absolutely a magnificent film, that I will have to watch every couple of years or so, because I am sure I will get something else out of it with each experience. You know a movie succeeds when each viewing creates a new experience and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind does this. I can see myself watching this when I am out of college, being married, having kids, and still see something I never got from it before.

Visuals: The in camera effects here are amazing. The pacing in editing is practically perfect. The characters costumes are so well thought out.
10/10

Acting: Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet are perfect. I also really enjoyed Mark Ruffalo. He was allot of fun. JIm Carrey’s character develops convincingly.
 10/10

Story: A perfect love story, with a bit of science fiction. The dialogue is fresh and entertaining. So much to feed off of, in terms of subtext.
 10/10

Concept: The concept of erasing a person completely from memory gives it a 10/10 alone.
 10/10

Personal: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is super entertaining and I learned allot from it. Maybe didn’t hit home on some levels, but I am sure it will in the future.
 9/10

Re-Watchability: There are so many reasons to revisit this movie, but I have already touched on that in my introduction.
 10/10

9.8/10

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

Leave a Reply

