‘Laura’ Review (Post #93)

laura-movie-poster-1944-1020143698Laura is an indisputable masterwork of 1940s cinema. The only familiarity I had to this movie when I saw it was its name and merit.

My noir filmography is rather limited so it was really nice to be able to finally see this fabulous film. I love that the movie opens right in the middle of a very intriguing mystery about a woman who was recently killed named Laura. There is almost no set-up and the story is moving along at a terrific pace.

It is the mystery of Laura’s death that moves us along and keeps our eyes glued to the screen. This is a mystery that can be solved by the audience throughout its viewing. I felt like I was Det. Lt. Mark McPherson learning more and more about the case all the while falling for the glamorous Laura played by the beautiful Gene Tierney.

Laura is an extremely accessible film that can be appreciated on every level; with its technical craft, its acting and its accurate screenplay.

Acting: Everyone in this film holds their own, no one feels out performed. A perfect cast.
10/10

Visuals: I loved that camera in this film, it reveals just as much as the screenplay allows. The costumes are fitting and the mis ‘en scene memorable.
9.5/10

Story: As good as mysteries get!
10/10

Personal: I love a good classic and I can’t believe I have waited so long to see it. Fit my taste perfectly.
9.5/10

Concept: So many great twists and turns in this film. One seconds you think someone is the culprit the next someone else.
10/10

Re Watch-ability: Can’t wait for my next viewing.
9.5/10

9.7/10

Tags: ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

Leave a Reply

