‘Les Misérables’ Review (Post #68)

Cosette-Official-Movie-Poster-les-miserables-2012-movie-32280133-864-1280My anticipation for Les Misérables has grown and grown throughout the year. I went from little knowledge of the stage show, into a enormous fan over the 2 years. And it was with dread that I saw my friends and family all go to one of the most highly anticipated movies of the year without me. But finally, after a week of being in theaters, I was finally able to go with my loving sister, whom we share an enormous love of theater and the musical that is Les Misérables.

Les Misérables is one of the most emotional movies I have ever seen in my life. Following the beautiful and at time tragic story of the ex-con Jean Valjean. Over the next 20 years Vajean experiences a full scale of life, from the lowest of dirt to the noblest of men. Les Misérables is certainly one of the most beautiful stories ever told.

Let’s start with the acting. Phenomenal! I really don’t think a bad casting decision was made in this movie. Sure we can speculate about voices another time, but I believed every performance.  From Anne Hathaway’s unforgettable “I Dreamed a Dream” sung by the pitiful Fantine to Eddie Redmayne’s “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables”. The cast helped lead me through the story. I fell in love with all those who needed it and all those that pushed us away. Hugh Jackman as well as Anne Hathaway both have Oscar worthy performances. But I think we can’t forget the beautiful job done by all the supporting members.

The cinematography was pitch perfect. I loved every decision made by Tom Hooper (Director) and Danny Cohen (Cinematographer). I loved how close and personal the camera was. The decision to keep Anne Hathaway’s “I Dreamed a Dream” in almost one complete shot was mesmerizing, focusing all the attention on one of the best performances I have ever seen. And what made this direction even better was the superb art direction. The sets and costuming were stunning throughout. I have hardly seen such a grungy Paris look so beautiful.

Les Misérables made me so emotionally engrossed that I collapsed in my seat at the end of the movies. There were tears in my eyes as I leaded over to my sister and said, “If I ever do this show, I’m going to be a mess. And if I was alone in this theater, I would be balling.” I came home and talked about it with my mother, who saw it with my sister last week. While talking to her, I was literally holding back tears. I told her I had to go downstairs and cry. And I did. I went in my room and wept for a good 30 seconds. I wept because this was one of the most beautiful cinematic experiences I have ever seen in my life. Not only is it my favorite movie of the year, but one of the best musicals ever made and maybe the best of the year. It is an instant classic! I hope with all my heart that it wins Best Picture. I my heart, it deserves it. And if it does, I will surely cry again.

This movie is why I love film so much! I have never so comfortably given a movie a 10/10 since I started reviewing movies a year ago. I applaud you cast and crew of Les Misérables.

10/10

Now I think I am going to go cry some more.

Tags: , ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

2 responses to “‘Les Misérables’ Review (Post #68)”

  1. vinnieh says :

    Great post, it certainly was an emotional film to watch.

Leave a Reply

