‘Sherlock Jr.’ Review (Post #40)

I am beginning to work my way through the list of classic films that were presented during the silent era. I have been enjoying shorts and features alike and well…lets face it, I haven’t hated one yet. (Accept the Squaw Man, terrible) Anyways Buster Keaton has in many ways, one over Charlie Chaplin for me. Though his film The Kid ranks above all other silent films I have seen there is something I love more about Keaton’s physical comedy. His stunts and creativity are ahead of its time and in my opinion better then most today.

Sherlock Jr. was an absolute treat. Running only 44 minutes long, Keaton gives us a warm, funny and sometimes mesmerizing tale of a projectionist who longs to become a a detective and win the heart of his girl. about half of the story plays out when Keaton’s dreams enter the world of film. This gives audiences some of the most creative and hilarious moments in film history. The stunts were great, the comedy pitch perfect. I loved this film. My favorite Keaton film so far, even above  The General.

10/10

Tags: , , , , ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

Leave a Reply

