‘Marvel’s The Avengers’ Review (Post #32)

I am such a die-hard Marvel fan that I waited until the 2nd to last day it was showing in my theater to see it. All-right I am no Marvel or comic book worshiper but I do like seeing some super hero films from time to time.

First I’d like to talk about the previous “Avenger” films before I continue my review on The Avengers. In order from least to greatest this is how these five films would rank; Captain America (Bored, didn’t like story or characters), Thor (Better then America), Iron Man 2 (About Iron man!, Fun dialogue, non memorable story , The Incredible Hulk (Sadly under the radar, Edward Norton, fun and entertaining), and Iron Man (Great Origin Story!, Great acting, memorable action and story). So I only really liked two out of the five films and wasn’t overly excited forThe Avengersbut I did want to see it and I am glad I did.

The Avengers takes place most recently after Captain America (Chris Evans, Human Torch? How can he be two  Marvel super heroes?)has been found frozen in ice. Loki, Thor’s evil adopted brother has decided to come and rule Earth. A team of super heroes must put their differences aside and save the human race!

This is definitely ranking as one of the best super-hero films ever made. Not only did it have great action, characters and story but it had a sense of humor that is often missed in such film that try to be ‘oh, so serious’. This film made me like each and everyone of these super heroes, regardless of how I thought about their own stand alone films. But as usually Robert Downey Jr.’s Tony Stark remain the most complex, interesting and funny character. He outshines the rest of his cast and not only because he has the shiniest suit but because he is probably the most talented actor in this film. The only one who stood close to Downey’s leading charm was Mark Ruffalo (Bruce Banner/ Hulk). I was initially sad to see that Edward Norton wouldn’t be returning but Ruffalo did great playing the low key, easy voiced Doctor Banner.

The Avengers is one of the most entertaining films of the year that isn’t just full of action and laughs but it has heart as well. I highly recommend this film even if you aren’t a comic book to movie lover.The Avengers will keep you entertained, laughing and engrossed throughout.

9/10

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

Leave a Reply

