‘The Secret World of Arrietty’ Review (Post #31)

I was first introduced to the world of Studio Ghibli with Hayao Miyazaki’s Spirited Away. Ever since I have had a desperate want to see all of Ghibli’s films. So over a year ago when I heard their newest film since Ponyo was going to be released, I got very excited. I was anxiously awaiting this BluRay release as the film was only shown in select theaters and I never had the opportunity to see this delightful film.

The Secret World of Arrietty is an adaption of the award winning novel The Borrowers. Now I have seen at least three different adaptions of this classic book and this one was definitely my favorite. This was the first adaption that I had seen done in animation, which is odd for me because I figured a story like this would be easiest to tell visually with animation. Since I am talking about animation lets start with that. This animation was very visually appealing. Some great work was done by the Ghibli staff. They brought me into the world of the borrowers with their trademark cell animation. Everything looked beautiful especially in the HD display. But in my opinion the sound work outdid that in some ways of the animation. As usual I watched the movie in its original language (Japanese, with English subs) as to really appreciate the original work done by the authors of the film. I greatly appreciate sound as an art form, especially in animation since they have to start completely from scratch. The work on this film was outstanding. The mixing between the borrowers’ and humans’ point of view was done with to perfection. How I wish I had surround sound so I could have been totally engrossed in its beauty.

To Conclude there was nothing wrong with this film accept it wasn’t as enriching as some some of Studio Ghibli’s other movies. Sure it was magical but not as much as their previous films. It is a great work of art that will entertain you and definitely require a revisit.
8.5/10
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

Leave a Reply

