‘Top 100 Favorite Feature Films #60-51′ (Post #29)

60          The Sandlot 1993)

I can still remember the first time I ever saw The Sandlot, it was back in 2nd or 3rd grade and I remember the adult Smalls walking through the hallways of the baseball stadium on his way to his job as baseball announcer. I was intrigued from the start and had no idea that this baseball movie would become one of my favorite movies to view while growing up. I never grew up around many friends from school because they lived to far around town or in a different town that we never hung out in groups like they did in The Sandlot. This movie made me love being a kid and envy what growing up was like in the 60s. Some of my favorite scenes include the Fireworks game and the carnival night. This movie is just tons of fun.

59          Titanic (1997)

It wasn’t until May of 2012 that I finally got to see this movie from start to finish. I originally saw it when in 6th grade on TV from the point of the sinking to the end and I thought it was the most thrilling thing I had ever seen. From then on I had seen the equivalent of the whole film but not all the way through. But when it was announced that Titanic was to be released in theaters in 3D I decided I would go and finally see it. And even though the 3D wasn’t the best I loved seeing it in theaters and in my opinion I feel that Titanic is one of the top 100 films of all time. Cameron’s masterpiece.

58          The Gold Rush (1925)

This wasn’t on my list until a week ago when I did some more revising and knew I had to include this film. Hands down The Gold Rush is one of the funniest and most clever films I have ever seen.  This is the film that Charlie Chaplin wanted to be known for and rightly so, in my opinion. I nearly busted a gut during the part of the film where he does his famous roll dance. The Gold Rush is a beautiful picture that was made with heart and a love for cinema.

57          Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off is probably the most popular and most well known of all of John Hughes’ films.  This movie is a landmark 80s films and has been quoted, viewed and loved by millions.  This movie is full of laugh out loud moments that will be remembered for years and years to come. I feel a little bad for Matthew Broderick as he really never grew out of this iconic role and has been known as Ferris ever since. If you have never seen this hysterical comedy, make it a must see.

56          Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

This was the first Indiana Jones film I had ever seen and it has always been my favorite. Though Raiders is usually picked over this, I have always found this one more adventurous and appealing. I remember when I first found this VHS in my parent’s collection and brought it out for a viewing. I absolutely loved the adventure especially that of the final scenes when Indi must get passed the obstacles to find the Holy Grail. One of my all-time favorite adventures!

55          How To Train Your Dragon (2010)

“That was so good,” is what I said as I walked out of the theater. How to Train your Dragon in my opinion is Dreamworks best film. I found that they finally reached Pixar with this movie. But it wasn’t until the second viewing that I realized I loved this film so much. I am a sucker for acting and dialogue so I loved how each voice actor found there character so well to produce a sarcastic and fantastic film. A must see for all those animation lovers.

54          Aladdin (1992)

Aladdin includes one of the coolest animated protagonists ever, number of Disney’s most memorable songs including probably the most popular/favorite Disney song of all time A Whole New World. Aladdin is one of those films that every young boy should watch as a child as the main protagonist is not a princess. Even though I love my share of princess films, I just have to say there is nothing cooler the a street urchin, free running, love struck hero!

53          Seven Samurai 

Seven Samurai is a film that was made to westernize Japanese filmmaking and boy, did they do a great job. I watched this movie in my film history class and was entranced by how well this film was made and how captivating the stories and characters were. Plus the action will keep those adrenaline lovers interested throughout. Seven Samurai influenced movies such as The Magnificent Seven, A Bug’s Life and 13 Assasins. A standard for film lovers.

52          The Artist (2011)

I am a little surprised myself that this movie made it so high on my list but The Artist is one of the most important movies in recent film history. Not only did this film win some major awards such as the ever-coveted Best Picture, but it re-established and showed us that silent films can still be made. I really hope that silent films will pick up again. I thought this a beautiful film that will only grow nearer and dearer to me.

51           Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (2011)

The Deathly Hallows Part 2 may possibly be the best Harry Potter instillation adapted to film. In my opinion this was one of the best films of the year only one of my personal favorites. This movie gave a Harry Potter movie series an epic and near perfect conclusion. The Harry Potter series will always be in my heart as one of my favorite franchises. The Deathly Hallows Part 2 was emotional and visually stunning. I was most satisfied by this final tale. I thought about putting Part 1 in this list also but this one tops it and I couldn’t put them both in.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

4 responses to “‘Top 100 Favorite Feature Films #60-51′ (Post #29)”

  1. Debbie Gnemi says :

    Hi Grant! If you ever get a chance to watch some of the older movies about the Titanic, I’d encourage you to do so. There is a lot more human interest in the older movie versions; a lot more detail about individuals on the ship. While not as impressive from a special effects POV, the story lines carry more weight and the character development is much more involved. Clifton Webb, an actor of the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s, is splendid in one of the 1950’s version of Titanic. If you are not familiar with Clifton Webb, he is one of my favorite character actors of that era. He was Mr. Belvadere in a series of movies about this family “nanny” waaaaaaaaaaaay before the sitcom on t.v. in the 90’s which is just a a shadow of the hilariously funny and witty movies of the 50’s about this individual who comes to work for a young family and ends up writing a novel about the snide, hypocritical community in which he lives. He is an efficiency expert and a self-declared genious, which, as it turns out, he is. Deb G.

  2. Debbie Gnemi says :

    Have you ever seen one of Charlie Chaplin’s films called The LIttle Dictator, I think??? I might be wrong on that title. It was way before it’s time (reminds me a lot of the satire of Saturday Night LIve when they do spoofs about political figures.) Chaplin wrote the screenplay, directed it, and plays the lead character who is a look-alike of a dictator that is eerily similar to Adolf Hitler. It was made prior to WWII and it is a stunning use of double meanings. In one scene, the good guy who is pretending to be the dictator, does a classical ballet dance bouncing an inflated globe of the world; all kinds of inuendo in that 3 or 4 min. of film. It’s full of jabs at the insanity of the world that is going to be plunged into a soon-world-at-war.

Leave a Reply

