‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’ Review (Post #4)

Who Framed Roger Rabbit blew my mind! Alright, I have known about this film since I was really young. I remember watching the short ‘Tummy Trouble’ before Honey I Shrunk the Kids VHS the kids staring Roger Rabbit and Baby Herman. I watched this film so many times but I was never allowed to watch the Film Who Framed Roger Rabbit. Now at 18 years young I viewed it for the first time and my mind as I was said was blown!

Who Framed Roger Rabbit tells the story of Eddie Valiant (Bob Hoskins) a toon hating detective who gets caught up the case involving the murder of Marvin Acme. A cartoon Rabbit named Roger Rabbit is the prime suspect and Eddie must put his hate aside to help out the crazy cartoon rabbit.

This movie was amazing! I was blown away. Who Framed Roger Rabbit takes place mostly in a live action LA with cartoon counterparts. What they did to make this movie is fascinating. By drawing over the live action, yes FRAME-BY_FRAME drawing, not CGI. (I like the use of hand drawn animation over the now used cgi that we see in films like ‘Smurfs’ and ‘Yogi Bear’) The cartoons cameos is one of the coolest parts of this film. We don’t just see one studio represented but at least eight different studios that gave special permission to use there characters. These characters include Walt Disney, MGM, Universal and Warner Brothers. I just adored the collaboration seen in this film.

The film had a combination of Comedy and Film Noir which an absolute treat. Who Framed Roger Rabbit was nominated for 6 Academy Awards, out of which it won 3 not including a Special Achievement Award for Richard Williams for animation direction and creation of cartoon characters. This films was just enjoyable in every way. Full of tons of laughs and fun cameos! This is a film that I will definitely be viewing for a second time in the coming months. I give Who Framed Roger Rabbit a 8.4/10.

Trailer: (Sorry, Couldn’t find the official trailer in better then 240p)

About grantfitzgerald

God. Family. Friends. Parkour. Film. Theater.

Leave a Reply

